Sixteen grad students named to the Siebel Scholars class of 2020

Sixteen MIT graduate pupils are on the list of 2020 cohort of Siebel Scholars hailing from world’s top graduate programs in bioengineering, company, computer system science, and energy research. These were acknowledged in a luncheon and prizes ceremony on campus on Oct. 31.

“You’re among an extremely select set of pupils for this honor,” Anantha Chandrakasan, dean of the School of Engineering and Vannevar Bush Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, informed the students. “Your department heads obviously think really extremely of successes.”

Honored with their educational achievements, leadership, and responsibilities to dealing with important international difficulties, the MIT pupils tend to be among 93 Siebel Scholars from 16 leading establishments in the usa, China, France, Italy, and Japan.

Siebel Scholars each obtain an honor of $35,000 to pay for their particular final year of study. Additionally, they join a residential district greater than 1,400 past Siebel Scholars, including about 260 from MIT, whom serve as advisors toward Thomas and Stacy Siebel Foundation and cooperate “to get a hold of methods to society’s most pressing dilemmas,” in line with the basis.

Last Siebel Scholars have actually launched over 1,100 items, got at the very least 370 patents, published almost 40 books, and founded at the least 150 companies, among various other achievements, in line with the Siebel Scholars Foundation, which administers this system.

MIT’s 2020 course of Siebel Scholars includes:

  • Katie Bacher, Department of electric Engineering and Computer Science
  • Alexandra (Allie) Beizer, MIT Sloan class of Management
  • Sarah Bening, division of Biological Engineering
  • Allison (Allie) Brouckman, MIT Sloan School of control
  • Enric Boix, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • M. Doga Dogan, division of electric Engineering and Computer Science
  • Jared Kehe, division of Biological Engineering
  • Emma Kornetsky, MIT Sloan class of control
  • Kyungmi Lee, division of electric Engineering and Computer Science
  • Graham Leverick, division of Mechanical Engineering
  • Lauren Milling, division of Biological Engineering
  • Hans Nowak, MIT Sloan class of control
  • Lauren Stopfer, Department of Biological Engineering
  • Jon Tham, Sloan class of control
  • Andrea Wallace, division of Biological Engineering
  • Clinton Wang, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science